

# Minnesota State Transportation Center of Excellence

**Annual Awards Program** 

# About

Each year the Minnesota State Transportation Center of Excellence (TCOE) is proud to sponsor awards to educators, advocates, supporters, and industry partners, for their outstanding contributions to the field of transportation-related education. Award winners are nominated by their peers, and recipients of these awards are selected at a regularly scheduled meeting of the TCOE Awards Committee. Decisions about the number of awards, and whether the awards are issued annually, are to be made at the discretion of the Awards Committee. The Awards Committee reserves the right to withhold the conference of any award in any given year. All nominations shall be kept in an active file for up to three years and may be extended at the discretion of the Awards Committee. Award recipients are expected to receive the award in person or through a proxy at the MTTIA Summer Conference. Your participation through nominating your colleagues, staff, teachers, and industry partners is strongly encouraged. Nomination forms can be found at <a href="https://www.minntran.org/tcoe-awards/">https://www.minntran.org/tcoe-awards/</a>

# Awards

# Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame award commemorates lifetime contributions to transportation education in Minnesota.

#### Criteria:

- 1. Lifelong experience providing outstanding contributions and distinguished service to transportation education in Minnesota.
- 2. Significant and noteworthy accomplishments that embody the distinction and significance of "Hall of Fame" membership.

## **Outstanding Educator of the Year**

The Outstanding Educator of the Year award celebrates educational and instructional excellence in the field of transportation teaching and learning.

#### Criteria:

- 1. More than ten years of teaching experience.
- 2. Establishment of high performance and standards.
- 3. Promotion of their programs in the community.
- 4. Consistent membership in a local, state, or national association of transportation educationrelated professionals. (Example: MTTIA, MTEEA, MAAE, etc.) Note: for some organizations, attendance at their conference is considered "membership"

5. Attends, contributes to, and supports TCOE functions and/or state-wide transportation-related activities. (Example: conferences, competitions, workshops, etc.)

# **Outstanding New Educator of the Year**

The Outstanding New Educator of the Year award recognizes early-career educators who demonstrate a deep commitment to, and potential for, excellence in the field of transportation teaching and learning.

#### Criteria:

- 1. Ten or fewer years of teaching experience.
- 2. Establishment of high performance and standards.
- 3. Promotion of their programs in the community.
- 4. Consistent membership in a local, state, or national association of transportation educationrelated professionals. (Example: MTTIA, MTEEA, MAAE, etc.) Note: for some organizations, attendance at their conference is considered "membership"
- 5. Attends, contributes to, and supports TCOE functions and/or state-wide transportation-related activities. (Example: conferences, competitions, workshops, etc.)

# **Exemplary College Program of the Year**

The Exemplary College Program of the Year award showcases post-secondary level transportation programs that serve as exemplary models of institutional support, instructional leadership, and program-wide excellence.

#### Criteria:

- 1. Establishment of program excellence through high performance and standards.
- 2. Promotion of their programs in the community through partnerships and outreach.
- 3. Consistent membership in a local, state, or national association of transportation educationrelated professionals. (Example: MTTIA, MTEEA, MAAE, etc.) by a majority of faculty members. **Note: for some organizations, attendance at their conference is considered "membership"**
- 4. The majority of faculty attend, contribute to, and support TCOE functions and/or state-wide transportation-related activities. (Example: conferences, competitions, workshops, etc.)

## **Exemplary Secondary Program of the Year**

The Exemplary Secondary Program of the Year award showcases post-secondary level transportation programs that serve as exemplary models of institutional support, instructional leadership, and program-wide excellence.

#### Criteria:

- 1. Establishment of program excellence through high performance and standards.
- 2. Promotion of their programs in the community through partnerships and outreach.
- Consistent membership in a local, state, or national association of transportation educationrelated professionals. (Example: MTTIA, MTEEA, MAAE, etc.) by majority of faculty members. Note: for some organizations, attendance at their conference is considered "membership"
- 4. The majority of faculty attend, contribute to, and support TCOE functions and/or state-wide transportation-related activities. (Example: conferences, competitions, workshops, etc.)

# **Transportation Program Supporter of the Year**

The Transportation Program Supporter of the Year award applauds the efforts of individuals and/or industry partners across Minnesota who have demonstrated exemplary support, through gifts of their time, talent, or resources, of transportation-related educational programs.

#### Criteria:

- 1. Award recipients are chosen by the Awards Committee, with nominations from industry and/or education professionals.
- 2. This award, at the discretion of the Awards Committee, may be awarded for a myriad of reasons, as long as recognition goes for "exemplary support, through gifts of their time, talent, or resources, of transportation related programs."
- 3. The nominee does **not** have to be a member of a local, state, or national association of professionals.

## Academic Professional of the Year

The Academic Professional of the Year award recognizes the efforts of an academic professional from Minnesota who has demonstrated exemplary job performance through their high quality work and steadfast support of transportation-related educational programs.

#### Criteria:

- 1. Award recipients are chosen by the Awards Committee, with nominations from industry and/or education professionals.
- 2. This award, being at the discretion of the Awards Committee, may be awarded for a myriad of reasons, as long as recognition goes for "exemplary job performance through their high quality work and steadfast support of transportation-related educational programs"
- 3. The nominee does **not** have to be a member of a local, state, or national association of professionals.